Voting Starts for Deemed & Non Deemed Categories for TIOL Awards 2024


Jury TIOL Awards 2024

Justice AK Patnaik
Fmr. Judge, Supreme Court of India
Justice A K Patnaik was elevated as Judge of the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India in 2009 and retired in 2014.
He joined the legal profession in 1974 and worked as the Senior Counsel for the Commercial Tax Department of the State of Orissa between 1990 to 1994. He was appointed as the permanent Judge of Guwahati High Court in 1995 and was elevated as the Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court in 2005.
He was later transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court as Chief Justice and was praised by the former CJI and Mentor of TIOL Jury Panel, late Justice R C Lahoti for efficient running of the Chhattisgarh High Court.
Justice Shiva Kirti Singh
Fmr. Judge, Supreme Court of India
Justice Shiva Kirti Singh was elevated to the Supreme Court of India in 2013 and retired in 2016. He was appointed as the Chairperson of Telecom Disputes Settlement & Appellate Tribunal where his tenure was extended twice. Before coming to the Apex Court, he was the Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court. He was first appointed as permanent judge of Patna High Court in 1998; appointed Acting Chief Justice of Patna HC in 2009 twice and for the third time in 2010. He was transferred to Allahabad HC in 2012 where he took oath as Chief Justice in February 2013 and then moved to Supreme Court in September 2013.
Mr Tarun Bajaj
Fmr. Revenue Secretary
Mr Tarun Bajaj, IAS of 1988 Batch, recently retired as the Revenue Secretary to the Government of India. He had richly meaningful stints with the World Bank, ADB, Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank and New Development Bank. He has also served on the Boards of SIDBI, GIC and Bank of Maharashtra. Presently, he is Independent Director on the Board of Hindustan Unilever.
Mr C K Mishra
Fmr. Union Health Secretary
Mr C K Mishra joined the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in 1983 and currently heading the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change. Government of India. He has been spearheading the Indian efforts at addressing climate change issues and at policy interventions in matter relating to pollution and Air Quality.
Ambassador Ajit Kumar
Fmr. Indian Representative, UNO
Ambassador Ajit Kumar served as Consul General of India in Atlanta (USA). He was also Ambassador to the Republic of Zimbabwe, Consul General of India in Frankfurt, Consul General of India Durban, South Africa.
He joined the Indian Foreign Service in 1979 and held posts in Damascus, Mexico City, Islamabad and New Delhi. As the deputy leader of the Indian delegation to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, he participated in multilateral negotiations on the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in the 1990s.
Mr M C Joshi
Fmr. Chairman, CBDT Member
Mr. M C Joshi is 1974 batch IRS (Income tax) officer. Besides holding many sensitive posts in the Income Tax Department, he was the Special Director in the Enforcement Directorate for several years. To his credit, he led a High-Level Committee set up to study the generation of black money in India and suggest legislative-cum-administrative measures.
He did M.A in Economics from Delhi School of Economics and was also appointed as Chairman of the Quality Review Board (QRB) an independent oversight body for the ICAI after my retirement. In this capacity he interacted with PCAOB in Washington and the CPAOB in Tokyo, the two most important independent audit oversight bodies in the world.
Mr J B Mohapatra
Fmr. Chairman, CBDT
Mr J B Mohapatra, IRS of 1985 Batch, retired as Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), Ministry of Finance, Government of India. He is a prolific writer and writes a weekly column for TIOL titled - The Policy Lab.
Mr Pramod Kumar
Fmr. Vice President, ITAT
Mr Pramod Kumar is former Vice President of Income Tax Appellate Tribunal (ITAT). Under his leadership, ITAT Mumbai was the first quasi-judicial institution in India to start virtual hearing of cases and undertake systematic reforms.
Mr Sandeep Mohan Bhatnagar
Rtd. Member CBIC
Mr Sandeep Mohan Bhatnagar, IRS of 1984 batch, retired as Member of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs, Ministry of Finance, Government of India. During his stint, he piloted many important reforms in the indirect tax domain.
He is a celebrated author of a popular fiction titled ‘Offspring’.
Mr AK Bhattacharya
Editorial Director, Business Standard
Mr. Ashok K. Bhattacharya, popularly known as AKB, is the Editorial Director of the Business Standard newspaper. He has authored a book titled “The Rise of Goliath” and writes a weekly column named Raisina Hill. He has been with the Business Standard for more than 23 years now. He commenced his editorial journey with The Indian Express. Later, he worked for The Economic Times, Financial Express and The Pioneer.
Mr Anup Vikal
CEO, Maple Highways Member
Mr. Anup Vikal is a seasoned business leader with progressive experience of over 28 years in managing various aspects of strategy, operations, turnarounds, fundraising, governance and stakeholders, across sectors. Apart from CSR initiatives, he is credited with fundraising in the excess of over USD 25 billion in form of debt, equity, mezzanine funding, structured finance, among others. He has successfully turned around multi-billion USD non-performing businesses to profitability. Previously, he was the Group CFO of Nayara Energy. He also was Group CFO and General Counsel at Jasper Infotech. Prior to that, he held senior group positions with InterGlobe Enterprises, COLT Technology Services and Bharti Airtel.
Mr Deepak Kapoor
Chairman, Delhivery Ltd.
Mr. Deepak Kapoor is Chairman of Delhivery Ltd. He is also on the board of HCL Technologies Ltd, Nayara Energy Ltd and Tata Steel Ltd. He is also a member of Association of Certified Fraud Examiners and Member of ICAI and ICSI. He retired as Chairman of PwC Pvt Ltd in 2017.
Mr Nalin Singhal
Dr Nalin Shinghal, an IITian & post graduate from IIM-Calcutta, retired as CMD of BHEL. He has a doctorate in Transport Economics from UK. He has worked with various PSUs and the Indian Railways.

TIOL Awards 2023

Our Partners


TIOL Awards 2022


The Objective

To motivate, encourage, acknowledge the contribution of compliant taxpayers, tax technology service providers, active facilitators, positive-minded fiscal journalists, tax-friendly commissionerates, reform-minded States to the wheels of economic growth and act as a reliable channel providing Taxpayers’ feedback to the Policy Makers.

TIOL Awards

Core Committee

Consisting of in-house professionals from fiscal press, TIOL, it’s knowledge foundation and ably supplemented by retired tax professionals and civil servants, the combined talent pool is confident of undertaking the vast responsibility with strong shoulders.